ICTs that just don’t work

I’m sure everyone has had that moment, where your carefully crafted lesson completely falls apart, because a computer won’t turn on, or the Smartboard won’t start, or some other ICT just plain won’t work. How do you deal with that?

CaitlinĀ suggests essentially planning two lessons – one with ICTs and one without. Although at first this seems kind of daunting, it makes sense. Sometimes ICTs are simply used for substitution anyway, so it is simple to fall back on the tried and true methods – such as handwriting notes on a whiteboard, or using butcher paper to create mindmaps. This can often be converted to a digital format later anyway. After all, there’s nothing worse than standing in front of a class and not knowing what to do. This is definitely some advice I will keep in mind on my next prac!

The end is in sight!

Wow, it feels like ages since I’ve been on here! I’ve finally completed my three weeks of prac after a solid fortnight of illness. I can honestly say it was my best prac yet. I learned an incredible amount about managing students at different levels, both in regards to age and academically. The class I was in was a special education class that had seven students spanning 6 years in age, and accessing curriculums from foundation to year two. I had a wonderful time and have to admit to shedding a tear or two when I finished.

It was also a great opportunity to practice using ICTs in the classroom, as there were several computers, iPads and a SMARTtv to use. I definitely noticed that students were more engaged when ICTs were used in conjunction with concrete materials, and that they retained the knowledge longer than when traditional pen and paper was the medium.